NZ Ice Hockey League

New Zealand Ice Hockey League

The New Zealand Ice Hockey League (NZIHL) is New Zealand’s premiere national men’s ice hockey league. It is an amateur league that was formed in 2005 to develop the sport in New Zealand and to give the top players regular competition against each other to improve the skill level of the game domestically and make New Zealand more competitive on the international scene.

Find out more about the league, view schedules and game results on the official NZIHL website:

Because the NZIHL is held during the Northern Hemisphere’s ice hockey offseason, many quality players travel to New Zealand and enjoy an off-season abroad while keeping in ice hockey shape.

The NZIHL season has developed and lengthened over time and currently consists of a home and away structure where all teams play each other 4 times, twice at home and twice away.

Teams receive 3 points for an outright win, 2 points for an overtime win, 1 point for an overtime loss and no points for an outright loss.

The three top seeded teams after the regular season then contest the finals. The second and third place finishers play a two game aggregate series for the right to face the top seed in a 3-match Grand Final Series with all three games held at the regular season winner’s home rink.

The New Zealand Ice Hockey Federation is made up of 3 affiliated regions, all of whom are represented in the New Zealand Ice Hockey League with 3 teams from Auckland, 2 teams from Southern and 1 team from Canterbury.

Auckland Mako 

Botany Swarm

Canterbury Red Devils

Skycity Stampede

Championship History:

2023: SkyCity Stampede
2022: SkyCity Stampede
2021: Trophy not awarded as finals were not played due to COVID-19
2020: Regular season not played due to COVID-19
2019: SkyCity Stampede
2018: West Auckland Admirals
2017: SkyCity Stampede
2016: SkyCity Stampede
2015: Southern Stampede
2014: Canterbury Red Devils
2013: Canterbury Red Devils
2012: Canterbury Red Devils
2011: Botany Swarm
2010: Botany Swarm
2009: Canterbury Red Devils
2008: Botany Swarm
2007: Botany Swarm
2006: Southern Stampede
2005: Southern Stampede 

Learn to Play
No experience necessary.   All gear provided.
Join The Global Game
Find your nearest club and start your ice hockey journey today.

Our Partners

© New Zealand Ice Hockey Federation 2024